Soccer ref punched in the face by teen player dies

As a referee myself, I would never...never...referee games within an unsanctioned league as this referee was doing. The risks far outweigh any reason for doing so. This is a tragic situation. Really feel bad for this ref and his family.

KRAM1, on 05 May 2013 - 20:15, said:

As a referee myself, I would never...never...referee games within an unsanctioned league as this referee was doing. The risks far outweigh any reason for doing so. This is a tragic situation. Really feel bad for this ref and his family.

Honest question. Sanctioned by whom? And how does sanctioning increase ref safety from unruly, short-tempered players?
  • Upvote 1

"UNSANCTIONED LEAGUE"

I don't think a sanction keeps someone from hitting someone else in the face, pulling their hair and elbow jamming them, stepping on their legs, or keeps parents from pulling guns at kid baseball games.

"UNSANCTIONED LEAGUE"

I don't think a sanction keeps someone from hitting someone else in the face, pulling their hair and elbow jamming them, stepping on their legs, or keeps parents from pulling guns at kid baseball games.

Not initially but some leagues ban players for bad/unsportsmanlike behavior. I suspect "sanctioned" leagues have a Code of Conduct that players agree to follow.

"UNSANCTIONED LEAGUE"

Honest question. Sanctioned by whom? And how does sanctioning increase ref safety from unruly, short-tempered players?

Sanctioned by the local soccer association that is itself sanctioned at the State and National levels by United States Soccer Federation. The same governing body that sanctions the US professional league, our World Cup teams, etc.