School And University Support?

EagleAlum98

I graduated in '98 so its been a while since being on the campus. However, I was just curious if

anyone knows if it has changed at all? When I was there it was very much a non-factor that we were playing a home football game that week? I always wished that the school would be more proactive about drawing students' attention about the coming game, random pep rallies, giving away tickets,etc to get more people to the game?

Just my two cents and curiosity.

go Mean Green!

• Upvote 1

I'm currently a student at UNT and I can attest to the fact that they are at least trying to draw in people. Things are changing at UNT for the better. They are starting to do more advertising around campus for football and basketball games. I think the new stadium should help ALOT. There are lots of students who could probably care less about athletics but this is the case at many universities around the country. The students and alumni that do care about football need to continue to support the university. But I can say that support is growing all over campus.

• Upvote 1

Well, I would say "yes". Things have changed around campus for the better since you left in '98. How much better would be the question. And, to that i would say "some", but not nearly enough. Now, I am not on campus every day, but my wife still works on campus, so I get some info on a regular basis and I am personally on campus somewhere almost every week for meetings, games or to simply check out the stadium construction, etc. You are not the only one who still desires the athletic dept. and the university in general to be more pro-active regarding student turnout for all its athletic, academic and arts/music events.