A Comment From The Nt Daily Article On The Football Stadium

LAZER

The following was posted as a comment on the NT daily website and I thought it was interesting. The writers name is Tobi Padwick.

NT daily

Tobi Padwick

posted 9/19/08 @ 12:59 AM CST

I am a denton resident and a fan of the business of college athletics. I am greatly encouraged by the way the UNT student body seems to be pushing for the construction of the new stadium. Jacqueline Giroir's letter above shows that today's UNT student really are on board with helping the university improve in ways that often are lost on students at other schools. Kudos to her and all of you.

The new stadium will allow the existing fouts feild site to be reclaimed by the university for other uses --- not an insignificant thought as the university is somewhat landlocked.

UNT probably has one of the 10 worst stadiums in Division 1. That hurts recruiting a lot. UNT recruits locally against SMU (great facilities and a high profile former NFL head coach in June Jones) and TCU (good facilities and a lot of national success in the last 15 years). The new stadium could give UNT 3-5 more top recruits each year which could deliver a number of wins each year.

One thing that I think is left unstated is that UNT made a commitment to Todd Dodge that they would provided him with a new stadium to help him recruit if the high profile Southlake football coach took the UNT job. He did and now UNT really should honor their word. The guy probably had effectively a lifetime contract at southlake that he gave up on good faith. He probably would have been strongly considered for the Baylor and SMU openings if he had turned UNT down. His struggles at UNT have hurt his career prospects more than a little.

It would make the University look awful if they once more appeared to be all talk and no action. Whether you like football or not is almost irrelevant. This is about perception of the university on a state and even national level.