advice for coach jones

drex

Please tell the players that they are down by fifteen at tipoff so they will play from the opening gun. We are very athletic, but cannot spot teams 15 points right off the bat and expect to win very many games. I am not talking about Nebraska, which is obviously very good...I am talking about the UTA and Texas State-San Marcos games. We are way too lacksadasical at the beginning of games.

I'm not an expert enough to give advice to Coach Jones, I have never Coached Basketball, and honestly, I have never played basketball in my life (although I do enjoy watching it)

But, I do agree with your comments about the beginning of the games. I don't see a real "push" on our guys to pull ahead in the first few minutes of the game. I am not sure if this is intentional or just the way things happen to go. It could be the way that Coach Jones wants to run the game.

I have a family member that coaches high school ball, and he explained his philosiphy to me as this:

"I try to press the other team hard, get them to turn the ball over, and win the game in the first 5 minutes, and then we just coast to a win...if we can get up by about 10-15 points in the first few minutes, it's over for the other team"

I think that our problems (remember that I have never played Basketball before) lie within our offensive performance. It appears that our defense is doing ok, but shooting below 50% is certainly not going to win games.

Oh no!!! What happened to the football coach?

No matter what happens this year He has atleast one year left. With Flemmings, Collins, Sturns, Bell, Wooden, And Mangrum they are, to me, a better team.

why should he be given another year if he bombs out again? Every year it has turned into wait until next year, when will JJ deliver in a CURRENT with current players?

Oh no!!! What happened to the football coach?