Jeff Andrews: Despite last two years

Harry

Jeff Andrews: Despite last two years, Dickey was nice to me

11:37 PM CST on Saturday, November 11, 2006

Jeff Andrews My first encounter with soon-to-be former North Texas head football coach Darrell Dickey didn’t go very smoothly.

Fresh out of the music department, I was a rookie news reporter for the North Texas Daily, UNT’s student newspaper, who had a single journalism class under my belt, and my managing editor sent me to football practice to get a quote from Dickey about the possibility of disciplinary action against a player who was involved in an altercation off the field.

Completely oblivious to how media went about getting quotes from coaches -- just like my managing editor -- I barged onto the field after Dickey dismissed afternoon practice.

“Coach, I’m with the Daily. Is there going to be disciplinary action against this player?” I asked him.

Obviously dejected at my blatant but unintentional disregard for media boundaries, Dickey gave me a one-sentence response without making eye contact with me and walked off.

Apparently I was supposed to check with North Texas sports information director Eric Capper before talking to Dickey. Apparently the Daily ’s sports department took it on the chin because of the incident.

Yikes. Talk about a bad start.

But the following fall I covered the 2004 edition of the Mean Green for the Daily when freshman running back Jamario Thomas rescued the team in guiding it to a fourth consecutive Sun Belt title -- and my reporting practices caused far less commotion.

As a member of the professional media, you don’t want to get emotionally involved in the teams you cover, but as a member of the student media covering your alma mater’s football team, that becomes a little more difficult.