Spring Football Coverage (drc)

89sFolks

I live in Oklahoma City, the heart of Sooner country. The Oklahoman has a daily blow by blow on Sooner football spring drills. Usually three or four articles per day. Injury reports, features (players/coaches), etc

If it weren't for "the report" a fan that's unable to have an inside or be local would never really be able to know what goes on.

I'm a teacher/coach/dad. My crimson blood turned green three years ago and I can't get enough info on what goes on.

I was just wondering if I was alone in my disdain for "the record."

I think the 3-4 GMG.com volunteers are running journalistic circles around Brett Vito.

The Denton Wretched Comical usually steps it up to daily coverage during summer practice, but you can always count on the last 3-4 paragraphs to contain the exact same information.

The problem is only Vito is assigned to cover North Texas. He has been busy covering the bball teams, and I would assume that he will be at the SBC tournament this weekend and miss out on all of this week's practices. The new sport's editor doesn't seem to do too much, so maybe he could cover this in Vito's absence. An email campaign requesting coverage might help to let them know there is a demand for spring ball coverage.

rgoodall@dentonrc.com is the email address for Russ Goodall.

As much as I hate to demonize them now because my wife works for them, blame Belo. Vito turns in the same articles to the DMN that he does for the DRC so all of his articles are short and general. Plus, he does cover every NT sport....football, basketball, softball, soccer, etc. I just think it's great that we have "insiders" on this board.

Ok... i think it's far past time to set the record straight on Vito. I've spent a good deal of time around the guy, as we're both at as many NT sports functions as we can manage.